Teaching Staff

As was to be expected in a traditional educational course, lectures formed an important part of the daily programme, particularly in the preclinical component of the course.  Two or three lectures per day was the norm.  These took place in large auditoria capable of accommodating the whole Year and generally set the scene for the rest of the day.      Attendance at lectures was not compulsory although in the Medical Chemistry lecture theatre each seat was numbered (the digits being visible from the lecturer’s rostrum); students were required to sit in the same seat, thereby affording discreet but effective monitoring of persistent absenteeism!  In these days our teachers received no formal training in educational techniques and, not surprisingly, performance varied from the somewhat mediocre, through interesting to impressive and even, on occasion, inspiring.  Humour was not, by and large, an outstanding feature and student/teacher interaction minimal.  Class discipline was not a serious issue in these more socially structured days although the sight of nearly two hundred adolescents must have been awesome to all but the most intrepid lecturer.      Being science-based the daily lectures were complemented by laboratory sessions, most of which were carefully prepared by the teaching staff and well received by the students.  Attendance at these sessions was compulsory and ‘lab books’ were reviewed as part of the overall assessment process.    The physiology laboratory sessions were popular, giving, as they did, a taste of the longed-for clinical experience to come.  The clinical component of the course was also fairly structured and formal lectures were still part of the process.  The teachers, however, had an easier time, the content of their lectures being intrinsically interesting to the students, who played a progressively more active role in their individual learning.  Finally, the day came when we entered the ward.   What can be said, in summary, of this part of the educational experience is that Richard Gordon gave a largely accurate portrayal of the life of the contemporary (1954) medical student in his book, Doctor in the House, subsequently made into an excellent film.     On a more serious note, our clinical teachers spent much time emphasising and demonstrating the importance of detailed history taking and clinical examination.  Laboratory investigations were complementary to this key focus.  Patients and their care were thus centre stage in our training, albeit the orientation was toward hospital medicine.  (General practice, as many of us were later to discover, was a whole separate world!) Perhaps the most rewarding period of our later medical training was the year spent as house officers.  The reality now struck with a vengeance, theory became practice, and very few of us will remember having more than a handful of hours off throughout this entire time.  We emerged exhausted but considerably wiser and, hopefully, more effective.  Without doubt, our teachers, both pre-clinical and clinical, were appreciated. They worked hard to provide a solid platform for us as fledgling medics and imbue in us a life-long commitment to the safe, effective and ethical practice of medicine (as articulated in our oath taking).  A list of the teachers involved in our education and training over the six years is given below.  Return to top of page 

1970 Physiology Lecture Theatre

Memorably, the Botany lectures started at 8 am. How many of us were there or ‘compos mentis’ is another matter.In the pre-clinical programme a vast amount of human anatomy was taught and dissection of the cadaver seen to be vitally important; this involved the ‘hands-on’ participation of six students per body. (one less than in the 17th Century!)

Rembrandt van Rijjin Anatomy Demonstration

Our teachers throughout the six years:

Prof. S. Alstead

Prof. L. J. Davis

Prof. J. Glaister

Prof. W. A. Mackey

Prof. E. J. Wayne

Prof. D. Fyfe Anderson

Prof. I. Donald

Prof. S. Graham

Prof. W. J. B. Riddell

Prof. J. Walton

Prof. D. F. Cappell

Prof. T. Ferguson

Prof. J. W. Howie

Prof. T.F. Rodger

Prof. G. Wyburn

Prof. J. N. Davidson

Prof. R. C. Garry

Prof. C.F.W. Illingworth

Prof. T. Symington

Dr. D. K. Adams

Dr. C. D. Anderson

Dr. J. K. Anderson

Dr. R. Barnes

Mr. A. A. Bonar

Dr. A. Brown

Dr. A. J. V. Cameron

Dr. J. F. Christie

Dr. J.N. Cruickshanks

Mr. W. Dennison

Dr. D. Douglas

Mr. C. A. Ferguson

Mr. A. P. M. Forrest

Mr. T. N. Fraser

Mr. E.G. Gerstenberg

Dr. H. Gillies


Dr. J. Hewitt

Mr. J. Hutchison

Dr. A. H. Imrie

Mr. A. W. Kay

Mr. A. P. Laird

Dr. A. W. Lees

Dr D.J. Livingstone

Dr. J.A.W. McCLuskie

Dr. J.W. MacFarlane

Mr. J. S. Mackay

Mr. N. McLean

Dr. L. McQueen

Mr. R. Mailer

Mr. J. M. Melvin

Dr. R. R. Morrison

Dr. I. Murray

Dr. S. D. S. Park

Mr. J. Patrick

Dr. A. Reid

Dr. J. S. Renfrew

Dr. I. D. Riley

Mr. J. Schorstein

Dr. A. M. Scott

Dr. A. Sharman

Dr. D. Smith

Mr. W. B. Stirling

Mr. H. J. Tankel

Dr. A.M.W. Thomson

Mr. H. Wapshaw

Dr. J. P. White

Mr. S. Young

Dr. J. Adams

Dr. J. G. Aitken

Dr. J. R. Anderson

Dr. S. A. Barnett

Dr. W. M. Borthwick

Mr. D. B. Brown

Dr. R. W. Carslaw

Mr. D. H. Clark

Dr. B. Cruiskshank

Dr. A. C. Dewar

Mr. J. Dunbar

Dr. J. N. Ferguson

Dr. A. C. Forrester

Mr. J. B. Galloway

Dr. D. T. Gibson

Dr. A. Glen

Dr. D. McKay Hart

Dr. T. O. Howie

Dr. J. H. Hutchison

Dr. J. C. J. Ives

Mr. A. B. Kerr

Dr. F. T. Land

Dr. R. Leishman

Dr. Lominski

Dr. A.C. McDonald

Dr. E. McGirr

Dr. W. McKenna

Dr. H.R.. McLennan

Dr. A. McPharter

Dr. J. L. Markson

Mr. A. Millar

Mr. G. Mowat

Mr. T. M. Newton

Mr. A. R. Parks

Dr. A. F. Peel

Mr. D. R. Reid

Dr. J. B. Rennie

Mr. J. M. S. Robertson

Dr. Sclare, sen.

Dr. L. D. W. Scott

Dr. G. Shaw

Dr. J. Smith

Dr. A. Strang

Dr. J. N. Tennant

Mr. J. D. Thomson

Dr. R. J. Watson

Mr. R. B. Wright

Dr. J. G. Aitken

Dr. A. Allison

Dr. T. F. Anderson

Dr. W. Barr

Mr. N. J. Blockey

Mr. J. T. Brown

Mr. T. L. Chaoman

Dr. E. A. M. Connal

Dr. A. R. Currie

Dr. J. M. C. Dewar

Dr. J. C. Eaton

Dr. D. K. Fisher

Dr. M. D. Foulis

Dr. H. S. D. Garven

Mr. T. Gibson

Dr. N. Grist

Dr. G. Harvey

Dr. J. B. Hurrl

Dr J.S.F. Hutchison

Dr. A. H. Jacob

Dr. J. D. O. Kerr

Dr. T. D. V. Lawrie

Dr. B. Lennox

Mr. C. J. Longland

Dr. A. McDougall

Dr. J. F. McHarg

Dr. P. McKenzie

Mr. I. McLennan

Mr. I. MacPherson

Dr. J. Marshall

Mr. D. C. Milne

Dr. H. Munro

Dr. E. J. Oastler

Dr. M. W. Paterson

Dr. H. H. Pinkerton

Dr. J. Reid

Dr. E. Rentoul

Dr. A. S. Rogen

Dr. Sclare, jun.

Dr. T. Semple

Dr. A. M. Shenkin

Dr. J. Sommerville

Dr. A.M. Sutherland

Dr. A. Tindal

Mr. J. S. Tough

Mr. A. J. Webster

Dr. J. H. Wright

Dr. A. Allison

Dr. C. D. Anderson

Dr. P. Bacsich

Mr. W. Beattie

Dr. H. Brebner

Mr. W. Burnett

Mr. A. A. Charteris

Dr. H. Conway

Dr. J. P. Currie

Dr. J. Dixon

Dr. A. G. Ferguson

Mr. J. P. Fleming

Mr. K. Fraser

Dr J.B. Gaylor

Dr. A. H. Giles

Dr. R. T. S. Gunn

Dr. E. B. Hendry

Dr. H. E. Hutcheson

Dr. J. A. Imrie

Mr. J. Jarvie

Dr. W. B. Kyles

Dr. S. Lazarus

Mr. J. H. Levack

Dr. J. G. McArthur

Dr. T. McEwan

Dr. C. Mackay

Dr. G. C. Mackinlay

Dr. A. McNiven

Mr. W. S. Mack

Dr. A. G. Mearns

Mr. W. L. Milne

Mr. A. M. Murray

Mr. J. L. Orr

Dr. J. P. J. Paton

Dr. A. L. K. Rankine

Mr. W. Reid

Dr. R. L. Richards

Mr. A. D. Roy

Dr. R. J. Scothorne

Dr. R. A. Shanks

Dr. A. Slessor

Mr. H. Stirling

Mr. J.W. Sutherland

Dr. J. E. Tinne

Dr. J. Z. Walker

Dr. J. B. de V. Weir

Dr. G. Young